Project Management

This work package is led by Julia Critchley from Newcastle University, with input from all Partners and clerical support from Alexandra Smith, also at Newcastle.

The objectives of WP10 are as follows:

      - To ensure high quality and effective project development and implementation according to the overall aim and objectives throughout the project


      - To manage and report appropriately all technical, contractual and financial matters related to the implementation of the project


      - To develop appropriate managerial mechanisms which enable the project to solve problems and difficulties arising during the implemention of the project


      - To coordinate and communicate with consortium Partners, the Project Monitoring and Advisory Committee (ProMAC) and the programme managers of the EC effectively


    - To ensure that all work is ethically acceptable.

The Project Monitoring and Advisory Committee (ProMAC) comprises professionals from international organisations, universities in Europe, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and Palestine, and senior policy-makers from the governments of Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and Palestine. It will meet every year and be serviced by the Project Management office (at Newcastle Unversity). The main functions of the ProMAC include: reviewing and commenting on draft annual workplans and progress reports; ensuring that the project adheres to the highest ethical standards; advising on policy and scienctific aspects of the project; ensuring the quality of research activites undertaken by the Partners of the project; advising and assisting with plans for dissemination, evaluation and implementation.
The members of ProMAC are currently:

Dr Gojka Roglic, WHO Geneva
Dr Ibtihal Fadhil, WHO EMRO
Dr Nazan Yardim, Primary Health Care General Directorate, Turkish Ministry of Health
Dr Sibel Gogen, Turkish Ministry of Health
Prof Dr Altan Onat, Nispetiye Caddesi, Istanbul
Professor Ilhan Satman, Istanbul Faculty of Medicine
Prof Dr Gul Ergor, Dokuz Eylul Univ, Izmir, Turkey
Dr Saer Koudsie, Foreign Affairs Committee, Syrian Parliament
Dr Maher Abou Mayaleh, Aga Khan Foundation, Hama, Syria
Mr Heidar Abu Ghosh Kteish, Director, Palestine Medical Relief Society (PMRS)
Prof Dr Nabil Ben Salah, Director of Research Department, Ministry of Health, Tunisia
Prof Dr Noureddine Achour, Director of the National Public Health Institute, Tunisia